Tag Archives: Rules & Regulations

Do emergency medical vehicles or aircraft have to permitted before operating them in Florida?

Yes, vehicles and aircraft must be permitted under your service license before operating them.   Vehicles are permitted either at the Basic Life Support (BLS) or Advanced Life Support (ALS) level.  Once permitted at that level, the vehicle must be operated at all times at that level with the required staffing and equipment.

Reference Section 401.26, Florida Statutes and Section 64J-1.007, Florida Administrative Code.


Florida Statute Regarding Air Ambulance Service ans License

See original

The 2012 Florida Statutes

Title XXIX


Chapter 401


401.251 Air ambulance service; licensure.—

(1) Each person, firm, corporation, association, or governmental entity that owns or acts as an agent for the owner of any business or service that furnishes, operates, conducts, maintains, advertises, engages in, proposes to engage in, or professes to engage in the business or service of transporting by air ambulance persons who require or are likely to require medical attention during transport must be licensed as an air ambulance service, before offering such service.

(2) The application for this license must be submitted to the department on forms provided for this purpose. The application must include documentation that the applicant meets the appropriate requirements for an air ambulance service as specified by rule of the department.

(3) An applicant who seeks licensure as an air ambulance service must:

(a) Submit a completed application to the department on such forms and including such information as specified by rule of the department.

(b) Submit the appropriate fee as provided in s. 401.34.

(c) Specify the location of all required medical equipment and provide documentation that all such equipment is available and in good working order.

(d) Provide documentation that all aircraft and crew members meet applicable Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) regulations.

(e) Provide proof of adequate insurance coverage of not less than $100,000 per person and $300,000 per incident, or a greater amount if specified by rule of the department, for claims arising out of injury or death of persons and damage to property of others resulting from any cause for which the owner of such business or service would be liable. Self-insurance is an acceptable alternative as specified in s. 401.25(2)(c).

(f) Specify whether the service uses either fixed-winged or rotary-winged aircraft, or both.

(4)(a) If a service provides interhospital air transport, air transport from hospital to another facility, air transport from hospital to home, or similar air transport, the service must provide evidence that it has employed or contracted with a medical director to advise the service on the appropriate staffing, equipment, and supplies to be used for the transport of any patient aboard an air ambulance and must provide information to referring physicians regarding special medical requirements and restrictions when transporting by air ambulance.

(b) If the air ambulance service uses rotary-winged aircraft in conjunction with another emergency medical service, the air ambulance service must meet the provisions of this section and must meet separate basic life support and advanced life support requirements unique to air ambulance operations as is required by rules of the department. Such service is subject to the provisions of s. 401.25 relating to a certificate of public convenience and necessity; however, a service may operate in any county under the terms of mutual aid agreements.

(c) Unless, in the opinion of the attending physician, the patient has an emergency medical condition as defined by s. 395.002, the service must provide each person using the service, before rendering the service, a written description of the services to be rendered and the cost of those services.

(5) In order to renew a license for air ambulance service, the applicant must:

(a) Submit a renewal application to the department not more than 90 days nor less than 60 days before the license expires.

(b) Submit the appropriate renewal fee as provided in s. 401.34.

(c) Provide documentation that current standards for issuance of a license are met.

(6) Any advanced life support service licensee may engage in air ambulance operations by complying with the appropriate provisions of this section and requirements specified by rule of the department.

History.—ss. 11, 13, ch. 83-196; s. 1, ch. 91-169; ss. 27, 36, ch. 92-78; s. 73, ch. 92-289.

Note.—Former s. 401.48.

What are the requirements for an air ambulance service license in Florida?

The paper work requirements are listed on the application for AIR ambulance licensure, “Air Ambulance Service Provider Licensure Application”, DOH Form 1575.  Click on the application and the application checklist to review most requirements.  Other requirements will be found in Section 401, Florida Statutes, & Chapter 64J-1, Florida Administrative Code. The following is a partial list of the major requirement:  Certificate of Public Convenience and Necessity (COPCN) from the county commission in the county you wish to operate your prehospital service, a medical director (licensed Florida physician) with a Department of Justice-Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) registration (prehospital only), aircraft vehicle liability insurance, trauma transport protocols and an approved radio communication system.  Approval of a radio communication system is completed by Department of Management Services-Information Technology Program.  Contact DMS for more information on EMS radio communication systems.

Reference Section 401.251, Florida Statutes and Section 64J-1.005, Florida Administrative Code.

Who needs a Basic Life Support (BLS) or Advanced Life Support (ALS) ambulance service license in Florida?

Every person, firm, corporation, association or governmental entity owning or acting as an agent for the owner of any business or service which furnishes, orperates, conducts, maintains, advertises, engages in, proposes to engage in or professes to engage in the business or service of providing prehospital or interfacility advanced life support services or basic life support transportation service must be licensed as a basic or advanced life support ambulance service, before offering such service to the public.
Reference Section 401.25, Florida Statutes & Section 64J-1.002, & 64J-1.003, Florida Administrative Code.

What are the requirements for an ambulance driver in Florida?

An ambulance driver must meet the following requirements:

  • Is at least 18 years of age;
  • certifies under oath that he or she is not addicted to alcohol or any controlled substance, and is free from any physical or mental defect or disease that might impair their ability to drive an ambulance;
  • Upon initial designation as a driver, has not within the past 3 years, been convicted of reckless driving or driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance and has not had a driver’s license suspended under the point system provided for in Chapter 322, Florida Statutes;
  • successfully completed a 16 hour course of instruction on driving an authorized emergency vehicle, which includes, at a minimum, classroom and behind the wheel training.  Section 64J-1.013, Florida Administrative Code for details on the 16 hour course content;
  • possess a valid American Red Cross or National Safety Council first aid course or its equivalent; and
  • possess a valid American Red Cross or American Heart Association cardiopulmonary resuscitation card.

Reference Section 401.281, Florida Statutes and Chapter 64J-1.013, Florida Administrative Code.

What is the required staffing for BLS and ALS vehicles and air ambulances in Florida?

BLS vehicles are required to have at a minimum an emergency medical technician (EMT) attending the patient and a driver meeting the requirements in Section 401.281, Florida Statutes.
ALS vehicles are required to have at a minimum a paramedic attending the patient and an EMT.

Aircraft-Prehospital air ambulances are required to have a minimum of one paramedic.

Interfacility air ambulance staffing is based on the patient’s condition as determined by the medical director.

Reference Section 401.25, Florida Statutes, Section 401.251, Florida Statutes, & Sections 64E-2.003; 64J-1.004; & 64J-1.005, Florida Administrative Code.

Can and unpermitted vehicle or aircraft be substituted for a permitted one while the permitted vehicle or aircraft us undergoing maintenance in Florida

Yes, when it is necessary for a permitted vehicle/aircraft to be out of service for routine maintenance or repairs, a substitute vehicle/aircraft meeting the same transport capabilities and equipment specifications as the out of service vehicle/aircraft may be used for a period of time not to exceed 30 days.  An unpermitted vehicle/aircraft cannot be placed into service, nor can a BLS vehicle be used at the ALS level unless it is replacing a vehicle that has been temporarily taken out of service for maintenance.  When such a substitution is made, the following information shall be maintained by the licensee and shall be accessible to the department:

  • identification of permitted vehicle/aircraft taken out of service;
  • identification of substitute vehicle/aircraft; and,
  • the date on which the substitute vehicle/aircraft was placed into service, the date on which it was removed from service and the date the permitted vehicle/aircraft was returned to service.